Skip to content

We are all neighborhood activists who have been elected to serve in a leadership capacity within the Philadelphia Democratic Party.

There are 66 wards in Philadelphia, each containing between 11 and 51 voting divisions, making up a total of 1,686 voting divisions. Democratic voters in each voting division, also known as precincts, directly elect two Democratic committee members. The ward’s executive committee is composed of all the Democratic committee members elected within the ward, who then select the ward leader and other officers.

The 5th Ward is made up of the following neighborhoods: Old City, Callowhill, Chinatown, the Gayborhood, the Historic District, Northern Liberties, Society Hill, and Washington Square West

The primary duties of the wards are to furnish voters with information, ensure voter turnout during elections, endorse candidates and ballot initiatives, and hold elected officials accountable for serving the ward’s residents.